top of page
Giuseppe Alberigo_compressed.png


FSCIRE, the Emilia-Romagna Region, and the European Academy of Religion are glad to announce the winners of the third edition of the Giuseppe Alberigo Award.

The Senior Award goes to Edwin Chr. Van Driel (Pittsburgh Theological Seminary) for the work Rethinking Paul. Protestant Theology and Pauline Exegesis (Cambridge University Press, 2021). 

The Junior Award goes to Sarah Shortall (University of Notre Dame) for the work Soldiers of God in a Secular World. Catholic Theology and Twentieth-Century French Politics (Harvard University Press, 2021).

Congratulations to the winners! The awarding ceremony will take place on Wednesday, June 22, 16:30, at FSCIRE, within the framework of the panel 1962-2022: Vatican II sixty years after. New contributions and perspectives of the historical studies on the Council.


We also praise the four finalists that have been granted a special mention of excellence for their works:


  • Enrico Peroli (Università degli Studi “Gabriele d'Annunzio” di Chieti–Pescara), Niccolò Cusano. La vita, l’opera, il pensiero (Carocci Editore, 2021).

  • Lidia Buono (Università degli Studi di Cassino e del Lazio Meridionale), Eugenia Russo (Università degli Studi di Cassino e del Lazio Meridionale), Homiliaria et passionaria. Collezioni liturgiche del medioevo latino 1: Homiliaria Beneventana 1 (SISMEL, 2019).

who received mention in the Senior Category and

  • Martina Mampieri (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Living under the Evil pope. The Hebrew Chronicle of Pope Paul IV by Benjamin Neemiah ben Elnathan from Civitanova Marche (16th cent.), Studies in Jewish History and Culture, 58 (Leiden-Boston: Brill, 2020).

  • Vincenzo Roberto Imperia (Università degli Studi di Palermo), I vescovati nella Sicilia normanna (secc. XI-XII). Potestà normative e competenze giurisdizionali in un territorio multiculturale (Palermo University Press, forthcoming).

who received mention in the Junior Category.

Alberigo Award Rules

Full list of submitted works

bottom of page